Organizational Awards

Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3)

The American Public Power Association awards RP3 to utilities demonstrating excellence in reliability, safety, workforce development and system improvement. This is the fifth RP3 designation Holland BPW has received.

Utility of the Future Today

The National Association of Clean Water Agencies recognized Holland BPW’s Water Reclamation Facility for its “engagement in the community and formation of partnerships necessary for success” with the design and building of the anaerobic digester.

George W. Burke Jr. Award

This Water Environment Federation award recognizes “a municipal or industrial wastewater facility for establishing and maintaining an active and effective safety program.”

Individual Awards

WEF Outgoing Board of Directors President Award - Joel Davenport

To acknowledge service to the WEF Board of Directors, this award thanks the outgoing president for dedication, expertise and time given to this position.

The James R. Rumsey Award - Theo Van Akken

Given by the National Association of Clean Water Agencies, this award recognizes Theo’s participation in the presentation “Lessons Learned from Covid-19 Crisis Response” regarding continuity of operations and staff safety during the pandemic.

Health and Safety Professional of the Year Award - René Kalkman

Awarded to a worthy individual who works on a day-to-day basis in Health & Safety, demonstrates outstanding dedication to his or her employer and to the MWEA, excels professionally and publicly promotes Health & Safety Professions.

Outstanding Environmental Engineer Award - Samuel Bender

For demonstrating outstanding dedication to his or her employer and to the MWEA, excelling professionally, and publicly promoting the wastewater environment profession.